Blog Tour: A Shifting of Stars by Kathy Kimbray Review, Aesthetic, Graphics and a Giveaway!

A Shifting of Stars (Of Stars #1) by Kathy Kimbray

Publisher: Self-Published

Release Date: 28 May, 2019

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Goodreads || Amazon

REVIEW

A squandering emperor. A handsome stranger. A reluctant heroine. And the ancient magic that will capsize a kingdom.

Seventeen-year-old Meadow Sircha watched her mother die from the wilting sickness. Tormented by the knowledge that the emperor failed to import the medicine that would have saved her, she speaks out at a gathering of villagers, inciting them to boycott his prized gladiator tournament.

But doing so comes at a steep cost.

Arrested as punishment for her impulsive tongue, Meadow finds herself caught up in the kind of danger she’s always tried to avoid. After a chance meeting with an enigmatic boy, she’s propelled on a perilous trek across the outer lands. But she soon unearths a staggering secret: one that will shift her world—and the kingdom—forever.

Filled with longing and heart, surprise and wonder, A SHIFTING OF STARS is perfect for fans of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES, RED QUEEN and SHADOW AND BONE.

~~~~~

AvocadoAvocadoAvocadoAvocado Non-Avocado ( 3 / 5 )

Woah! I am not going to lie, I was hesitant about this novel since I was sure that the premise was overselling the book. I was very quickly proved wrong! This fast paced novel kept me amused and engaged throughout nearly every chapters, and although I have a few minor qualms, I am very impressed with this novel.

The world building of this novel is quickly established through Kimbray’s colourful and engaging writing. I thought that Meadow, our main character, was a little unpredictable and didn’t seem to have much direction at the beginning of the story. As the story progressed, and Meadow started to work through some of her thoughts, the action of the plot really came together. The characters all have to work through a lot of different issues, and although it was a little bit tedious, it certainly added to the satisfaction when a character achieved a milestone (although I can’t reveal what any of those would be). Now, let’s expand.

Let me just be honest for a second - I never really expected someone to be able to get gladiators from a grief meeting, and Kathy Kimbray has done this very, very, very well. I was caught immediately by the amazing world of Meadow and the King and, just, well, everyone! I was really caught up with the movie in my head created by A Shifting of Stars.

Overall, A Shifting of Stars is a novel where the fantasy seems to flow seamlessly into the world that Kathy Kimbray has created. I recommend this to lovers of a world similar to that of Red Queen, with the enthralling characters of Throne of Glass, and the tea of An Ember in the Ashes. Read on, my folks!

AESTHETIC BOARD

I do not own any of the images used

QUOTE GRAPHICS

I realised, while reading a post from Tempest of Books, that we have a couple of the same quotes! Please check out her post for this tour, it is really beautiful :)

           

TOUR SCHEDULE

July 07 (Sunday)
July 08 (Monday)
July 09 (Tuesday)
July 10 (Wednesday)
July 11 (Thursday)
July 12 (Friday)
July 13 (Saturday)
  • #CBTTC Twitter chat hosted by @CaffeineTours
  • 10:00 AM Eastern Standard Time (EST)
  • 9:00 PM Philippine Time

MORE

Kathy Kimbray is a YA author from Australia.

After graduating from the University of Technology, Sydney, with a degree in Media Arts and Production, she went on to complete postgraduate studies in education and spent many years as a primary school teacher.

Now a full-time novelist, Kathy is lucky to be able to tell stories every day.

Aside from writing, Kathy is an avid reader, dancer, language learner, musical theater enthusiast and fan of terrible reality TV. She lives with her husband in Sydney, and dreams of one day owning that elusive chateau in France.

Author Site || GoodReads || Instagram || Facebook || Twitter

Join the Twitter chat!

GIVEAWAY

Prize: One (1) signed paperback copy of A Shifting of Stars and one (1) Amazon gift card worth 10 USD (two winners: one for the paperback, one for the gift card)

Scope: Open worldwide/internationally

a Rafflecopter giveaway

4 comments :

  1. I have to say, I love that aesthetic board! This sounds wonderful, especially when comparing it to Red Queen, Tog and AEitA!
    Genesis @ Whispering Chapters

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! Yes, I really enjoy it and I recommend it to everyone!

      Delete
  2. I actually brought this on my Kindle a few weeks back :L I still need to read it. It sounds interesting though and I love your review and aesthetic board :D

    ReplyDelete

My Instagram

Made with by OddThemes | Distributed by Gooyaabi Templates